JJ's Down Jamaica Way

JJ's Down Jamaica Way
Reggae Reviews

Pages

Sunday, December 21, 2014

The End of Ernie B's Reggae

For several decades myself and many others who suffer with the same affliction as I, have been getting our reggae medicine from Ernie B's Reggae in the US of A which was a wondrous mail order outlet, stocking about 99% of reggae music releases.
What made shopping at Ernie B's was their excellent customer service & the fact that if a piece of reggae music was issued anywhere in the world , nine times out of ten you'd find it at Ernie's.

Sadly over the last couple of years Ernie B's has slowly but surely drifted further & further from their reggae roots.

Where once you could find all the latest vinyl releases by the leading  reissue labels such as Pressure Sounds, Iroko Records, Onlyroots & Digikiller/Deeper Knowledge, now you'll find their latest release web-page filled with pop & rock artists.....meaning that now we collectors have to source our music from the UK or Europe at a huge increase in costs.

Surely not having a US mail order base for reggae will severely hamper these small niche reggae labels from reaching a wider audience?



Having nowhere in the US to buy from may well be the final nail in the coffin for collectors such as myself......


j j

Wednesday, September 10, 2014

A lucky time for UPSETTER fans!

Fan's of Lee Perry's Black Ark sound will have been rejoicing over the last few months with a wealth of Upsetter connected releases seeing the light of day.

Michael Rose - World Crisis/Version - Underground/DKR 10"
Thomas White - Ivory Girl - DKR 10"


The Carltons/Upsetters - Better Days/Tight Spot - Underground/DKR 7"
The Gatherers - Words/Version - Upsetter 7" (alternate vocal mix from 1973)
Ronnie Davis - You Are The Fool/Version - On Top 7"
Delano Tucker - Gather Israelites/Version - Mango 7"
Clinton Fearon - Togetherness/Version - Horus 7"
Augustus Pablo - Ethiopia/Version - Pressure Sounds 7"


10 Sept 2014
j j

Tuesday, September 9, 2014

Best releases Aug/Sept 2014

7" 45's

Stama Haughton - Roots In A Roots/Version - Afrik/Onlyroots  (1976)
Slickers - St Jago De La Vega/Version - Afrik/Onlyroots (1977)
Slickers - Zion Land/Well Dread - Afrik/Onlyroots  (1977)
Carltons/Upsetters - Better Days/Tighten Up - Underground/DKR (1972)
Singing Cologne - Fire Will Be Burning/Version - Iroko (2014)
Bandolos - Stronger Strong/Version - Iroko (1977)
Anthony Johnson - We Rule/Version - Tuff Scout (1980's)
Gatherer's - Words/Version - Upsetter (1972?)
Aisha - Jah Vengence/Version - Ariwa (2014)
Pablove Black - Cuts & Bruises/Version - Uprising/DKR (1976)
Barry Brown - Blackman Should Never Turn His Back/Version - Eek A Mouse (1976)
Clinton Fearon - Togetherness/Version - Horus (1974)
Gussie Presenting The Right Sevens 7x7" box set - VP Records (1973-79)

10" Singles

Michael Rose - world Crisis/Version - Underground/DKR (1977)
Still Cool - Crab In A Barrel/Thomas White - Ivory Girl - Stereo Uprising/DKR (1981)

12" Singles

Black Uhuru - World Is Africa/Version/Version - Taxi (1980)
Majesterians - Youth Man/Version/Psalms - Hell Up In A Harlem/Version - Taxi (1980)
Errol Dunkley - Disco Showcase - Iroko 2x12" (1974-80)

LP's

Paragons - The Paragons - Island (1980)
Augustus Pablo - Born To Dub You - VP (1973-75)

Compact Disc

Virgin Front Line Presents Sounds Of Reality 5CD box set -Virgin Records
Front Line Presents 37 Roots Classic 2CD - Virgin Records
Front Line Presents 40 Dub Classics 2CD - Virgin Records
More Jammy$ From The Roots 2CD - VP Records

Monday, July 14, 2014

NEW RELEASE: Virgin Front Line presents ROOTS: 37 Classic Roots Cuts 2014.

Hello y'all,

I just received this in the mail today.

Firstly it's a 2CD set & if you shop online you'll be able to pick it up for the ridiculous price of GBP5.00 (approx. NZ$10.00).

Covers the years 1975-79 & features several 7" mixes (not sure if these differ much if any from the LP mixes though) & three Twinkle Bros 12" mixes.

DISC 1.

1. Big Youth - House Of Dread Locks (3.15) - LP "Dreadlocks Dread" 1975

2. U Roy - Chalice In The Palace (3.28) - from 7" VS-138. 1975

3. Johnny Clarke - Crazy Bald Head (3.38) - from 7" VS-159. 1976

4. Mighty Diamonds - Country Living (3.34) - from 7" VS-168. 1976

5. Gladiators - Mix Up (2.58) -  from 7" V-2062 1976

6. I Roy - Tribute To Marcus Garvey (4.06) -  from 7" V-2075 - *still in mono 1976

7. U Brown - Natty Dread A Take Over (3.55) - LP. 1978

8. Tapper Zukie - Rastaman Skank (4.01) - from 7"  FL-109 - * Weather Man riddim 1978

9. Althea & Donna - If You Don't Love Jah (2.55) - LP. 1978

10. Ranking Trevor - Natty The Root Man (3.18) - LP. 1978

11. Gregory Isaacs - Created By The Father (2.29) - LP. 1978

12. Prince Far I - Daughters Of Zion (3.42) - LP. 1978

13. U Roy - Jah Son Of Africa (7.36) - from LP "Jah Son Of Africa" . 1978

14. Twinkle Brothers - Keep On Trying 12" Mix (8.17) - FL-11912. 1978

15. I Roy - Exodus (4.42) - from LP "Ten Commandments". 1978

16. Mighty Diamonds - Bodyguard (3.30) - LP. 1979

17. Gladiators - Back Yard Meditation (3.37) - LP. 1979

18. Twinkle Brothers & Sir Lee - Free Africa 12" Mix (9.24) - FL-12312. 1979


DISC 2.

1. Johnny Clarke - Satta A Massa Gana (3.39) - LP. 1975

2. I Roy - Satta (A Massa Gana) (3.49) - LP. 1975

3. Gladiators - Pocket Money (3.12) - from 7" VS-193. 1977

4. U Roy - Evil Doers (3.47) - from 7" VS-193. 1977

5. Mighty Diamonds - Jah Will Work It Out (3.45) from 7" VS-208. 1978

6. Tapper Zukie - M.P.L.A (3.07) - LP. 1978

7. Prince Far I - Blackman Land (3.28) - LP. 1978

8. Ranking Trevor - Masculine Gender (3.20) - LP. 1978

9. Culture - Stop The Fussing & Fighting (4.46) - LP. 1978

10. Abyssinians - This Land Is For Everyone (3.51) - LP. 1978

11. U Roy & Brent Dowe - Babylon River (5.01) - from LP "Jah Son Of Africa". 1978

12. Gladiators - Struggle (3.24) - 7" FL-118. 1979

13. I Roy - Set The Captives Free (3.37) - LP. 1979

14. Twinkle Brothers - Jahoviah 12" Mix (10.03) - FLS-12123. 1979

15. Gregory Isaacs - Universal Tribulation (3.47) - LP. 1979

16. Gladiators - Let Jah Be Praised (4.09) - LP. 1979

17. Culture - International Herb (3.18) - 7" FL-125. 1979

18. I Roy - Hill & Gully (4.34) 7" FLS-124. 1979

19. Twinkle Brothers - Jah Kingdom Come (3.20) 7" FLS-127. 1979


Sound quality is perfect, all from master tapes.
Compiled by Laurence Cane-Honeysett.
At this budget price this collection is well worth buying for the 3x Twinkle 12"s alone!

cheers
j j
15/7/2014

Thursday, April 24, 2014

Freddie McKay Discography

  • A Little Bit Will Do / Joe White - Ain't Misbehaving - Ace Records 7"
  • A Little Bit Will Do / Version - Diamond International 7" (1976)
  • * see 'Just A Little Bit'.
  • A Little Longer / Version - Spanna w/ Freddie McKay - Love 7" (1977)
  • A Love Like Mine (Beatles song)/ - Art & Craft 12" (1980)
  • Another Weekend / Version - Volcano 7"
  • Another Weekend/Earl Sixteen - Live Together - Greensleeves 12"
  • Arise Selassie I Arise/Mud Hut - Hot Rod 7" (1974)
  • Bag Over Shoulder / - Sunset Records 7" (1986)
  • Because Of You / Version - Eagle 7"
  • Because Of You / Version - Total Sounds 7" (Prod: Lloyd Campbell)
  • Be Sorry / Version - Ujama 7"
  • * also see under 'Got To Be Sorry' & 'Gonna Be Sorry'.
  • Black Beauty / - Panther 7"
  • Cards On The Table / Version - Catstaff 12"
  • Cassandra / Anthony Johnson - Since I Met You Baby - Shabrock 12" (Prod: T Shabazz/Pat Scabba Sutherland)
  • Come Together w/Trinity - GG's Records 12" (1980)
  • Cool Down Your Temper - Marsha Music 7"
  • Creation (aka Creation Rebel) / I Man - Roots From Yard 7" (1978)(I Man = Jah Man - no version)
  • Creation Rebel / Version - Earthquake/DKR 7"
  • Curess (sic )(aka Perhaps?) / High School Dance - Pioneer International 12" (Prod: Black Beard)
  • Dance This Ya Festival/Version - Well Charge 7"
  • Darling Ooh! (Your Love Is Amazing)/ - Ja Man 7" (1973)
  • Doing Fine (aka You Doing Fine)/Version - Mr Tipsy 7" (1984)/Nura 7"
  • Doing Fine / Version - Blank 7"
  • Don't Turn Back / Turn Forward Version - Rebel 7" (1972)
  • Dream My Life Over - Jaguar 7" (1974)/Dragon 7" (1974)
  • Drunking Sailor/Version - Money Disc 7" (1972)
  • Drunking Sailor / Prince Francis - Rock Fort Shock - Ironside 7" (1972)
  • Drunking Sailor / - Mr Tipsy 7"
  • Drunking Sailor / Jah Woosh - She Was My Lady - Sky Juice 12"
  • Drunking Sailor / George Nooks - Be Concious - Original Music 10"
  • Equal Rights/GG All Stars - Version - Boss Disc 7" (1972) 
  • Exodus / Version - Rootical Dubber 7" Re (1977)
  • Exodus / - Hi Rank 7"
  • Father Will Cut You Off / Version - Money Disc 7"
  • Fine Fine Fine / Derrick Morgan - Court Dismiss - Pyramid 7" (*as Frederick McLean)
  • Fire Is Burning / - Deep Groove Sounds 12"
  • Fire Is Burning (diff mix to DGS 12") / Lonely Man - Roots From Yard 12"
  • Free Man / Creation Steppers - What You're Not Supposed To Do - Tribesman 7"
  • Free Man / A Pablo - Hap Ki Do - Hot Shot 7"
  • Free Man / Version - Iron Side 7"
  • Free Man / Delroy Williams - Let Them Stay - Iron Side RE 7"
  • Free Man / Version - Iron Side RE 7"
  • *also see 'I'm A Free Man'
  • Go On Girl - * see 'Red Eye Girl'.
  • Go On This Way / - Soul Beat 7"
  • Go On This Way / - Santic RE 7"
  • Go On This Way / Jo Jo Bennett - 10 Steps To Soul - Moodisc 7"
  • Go On This Way / - Atra 7" (1973)
  • Go On This Way/ - Bullet 7" (1973)
  • Gonna Be Sorry / Sometimes I Cry - Strong Like Sampson 12" (1979)
  • Got To Be Sorry / Version // I Love You / Version - Ujama 12" (1986)
  • * see also 'Be Sorry'
  • Help Me / Running Over w/Dansak - Trojan Records 7" (1975) (* a version of 'The Wound My Heal')
  • High School Dance / Version - Money Disc 7"
  • High School Dance/ - Banana 7"
  • How Can I Leave / - GG's Records 7"
  • How Can I / Funny - GG's Records 12" (1977)
  • If It Wasn't So / Version - Yah Congo 12" (Prod: Phillip Fullwood)
  • If You Must Go / Version - Melrose 7" (1975)
  • I'm A Free Man / Soul Defenders - Money Disc 7"
  • I'm A Free Man / A. Pablo - Santic Special 1 & 2// A. Pablo - Hap Ki Do/Version - Pressure Sounds 10"
  • I'm A Free Man / - Santic 7"
  • I'm A Free Man / - Monica's 7"
  • *also see under 'Free Man'.
  • I'm A Lonely Man / - Jaguar 7" (1974)
  • Inna Mi Yard / Version - Vintage Avenue Records 7" (aka Tribal Inna Yard)
  • In Times Of Trouble w/Trinity /Version - Live & Love 12"
  • It Ain't Easy / Version - Matador 7" (1979)
  • It De Hay (aka It De Yah) / Version - Ocean 7" (1975)
  • It De Hay / David Isaacs - Jah Love I - Chanan-Jah/Pressure Sounds 10" (Prod: Phil Pratt)
  • It Get So Hot / - Marsha Music 7" (1976)
  • It Get So Hot / - Sadat 7" (1976)
  • It Get So Hot ? / - Stan Gee 7"
  • I've Been Hurt / Happiness w/Jah Stitch - Gorgon Records 12" (1978) (Prod: P Fullwood)
  • Jah Love I / Version - Lucky Star 7" (1978)
  • Jah Love I / Caught You Red Handed - Lucky Star 12"
  • Jah Love I / Caught You Red Handed - Lucky Star 12" Re (2017)
  • Jah Man / Version - Earthquake/DKR 7"
  • Jamaica Yu Large / - Secret Weapon Records 7"
  • Johnny Dollar / Wig Wham All Stars -Version - Wig Wham 7" (1976)
  • Junking Sailor - see Drunking Sailor
  • Just A Little Bit / Version  - Marsha Music 7" (1976)
  •  *also see 'A' Little Bit Will Do'.
  • Just Out Of Reach / Version - Manzie 7"
  • La La Bye Woman / - Roots From Yard 7" (same cut as Creation LP)
  • Lonely Man / Version - Niagara 12"
  • Love Is A Treasure / Techniques - You Don't Care - Treasure Isle 7" (1968)
  • Love Is A Treasure / Lizzy - Love Is A Treasure - Duke Reid 7"
  • Love Is A Treasure / Tommy McCook - Zazuka - Trojan Records 7" (1967)
  • Love Is A Treasure / Silvertones - Young At Heart - Forward Records 12"
  • Love Is A Treasure / Horace Andy Mr Bassie - Studio One 12"
  • Marcia / Version - Flames 7" (1976) * aka 'A Little Bit Will Do'. 
  • Massachusetts / Winston McAnuff - I Love Jah - Third World 12"
  • Million Dollar Baby / - Soul Town 7"
  • Million Dollar Baby / Question 7"
  • Mop & Cry / - Top Ranking 7"
  • Mop & Cry / Version - Emmanuel Music 7"
  • Mop & Cry / Pope Of Rome Falling - D.E.B 12"
  • My Love For You / Version - Thunderbolt 7" (1984)
  • My True Love / New Establishment - Version - Money Disc 7"
  • Nuh Mek It Look So / Version - Earthquake/DKR 7" 
  • Nuh Mek It Look So / Deadly Headly Bennett - Close Encounter - Roots From Yard 12"
  • Oh Carol / - Spiderman 7"
  • Oh Carol / Rhythm Rulers - More Dub of Carol - Big Hit! 7" (1974)(Prod: Lloyd Campbell)
  • Oh Girl / - Amethyst 7" & 10"
  • Oh How I Wish / Version - Up Front 7"
  • Old Joe / Version - Moodisc 7" (1971)
  • Open Up Your Door / Version - GG's Records 7"
  • Our Rendezvous / Version - Dynamic 7"
  • Our Rendezvous / - Grape 7"
  • Our Rendezvous / - Jaguar 7"
  • Our Rendezvous / - Thompson Sound RE 7"
  • Out The Fire / Version - Stan Gee 7"
  • Paulette / - Clandisc 7" (1986)
  • Peace In The Garden / - Jaguar 7"
  • Peace In The Garden / - Gorgon Records 7" (1978)
  • Peace In The Garden / Rags & Riches - It's Not Right - Kingsley Sounds 12" 
  • Picture On The Wall / - Banana 7" (1971)
  • Picture On The Wall / Version - Money Disc 7" (1974)
  • Picture On The Wall / Sound Dimension - Version - Coxsone (1971)
  • Picture On The Wall w/Jah Stone / Rendezvous - GG's Records 12" (1977)
  • Pretty Baby / Version - Alfran 7" (1987)
  • Pretty Looks w/Nicodemus / Version - Bushays 12"
  • Red Eye Girl (aka Go On Girl) - Olive Blossom 7"
  • Red Eye Girl - W/Buster - Nothing Takes The Place Of You - Blank 7"
  • Red Eye Girl / Giving You A Try - Blue Beat 7"
  • Rock A Bye Woman / Version - Hot Rod 7" (1974)/Pressure Sounds RE 7"
  • Rock A Bye Woman / - Keith's 7"
  • Rock A Bye Woman / - Attack (UK) 7"
  • Roots Festival / - Tit For Tat 7" (1975)
  • Set Me Free / Version - Ujama 7"
  • Show & Tell / Dub Version - Soferno B 12"
  • Show & Tell / Yellowman - Over Me - Jah Guidance 12" (1981)
  • Since I Met You / Version - Love 7"
  • Sing Little Bird Sing w/Jah Thomas / Can't Get No Love Tonight - Cool Rockers 12" (1979)
  • (Sitting On) Dock Of The Bay/ Arise Selassie I Arise - Attack Records 7" (1974)
  • (Sitting On) Dock Of The Bay/ - Hot Rod 7" (1974)
  • So Long Farewell / Watch Your Step - Kismet 7"
  • So Long Farewell / Bunny & Ruddy - On The Town - Beverly's 7"
  • Some Kind Of Wonderful / Version - GG's Records 7"
  • Some Kind Of Wonderful / Version - Typhoon 7"
  • Some Kind Of Wonderful w/ I Roy /Version - GG's Records 12" (1979)
  • Some Of Dem Run Away / - GG's Records 7"?
  • Still In Rags / Version - B.G.I 7" (1979)
  • Sunny Sunday Morning / Family Man - Godfather Skank - Godfather 7"
  • Susan / - Mistic 7" (1977/8?)
  • Sweet You Sour You / Jackie Mittoo - Touching You - Festival 71 7" (1970)
  • Sweet You Sour You / - Banana 7" (1971)
  • Sweet You Sour You / - Shelter Records Co Inc. 7" (1972)
  • Take My Hand Oh Jah / Don't Make It Look So Bad - Yah Congo Records 12" (1977)
  • Take My Hand Oh Jah / Naggo Morris - You Want To Get I Out - Yah Congo/DKR 12"
  • Talking Love / - Ja Man 7" (1975) (feat Horace Andy)
  • Talking Love / - Flames 7"
  • Tear Drops / Version - Channel Seven 7" (1979)/
  • Tear Drops / John Holt - Strange Things - Sunshot 7" *(may actually be organ cut of Strange Things not tear Drops)
  • Tear Drops / Pat Kelly - You Send Me - Justice 7"
  • Tears Won't Help You / - Harry J 7" (as Treasure Boy)
  • The Wound May Heal / - Sunpower 7"
  • Too Much Fire / - Moodisc (UK) 7" 
  • Too Much Fire / Rhythm Rulers - Proud Feeling - Rio 7"
  • Tribal Ina Yard / Mystic Eyes - Judgement Time - Iroko 12" (1983/80)
  •  
  • Tricksters Loving / Roots Radics - Version - Volcano 7" (1982)
  • War Is Over w/Jah Lloyd / Version - GG's Records 7"
  • Watch Your Step / So Long Farewell - Kismet 7" *see So Long Farewell.
  • What You Gonna Do / Jr Moore - Lonely Heartaches - Hawkeye 12" (1980)
  • What You Gonna Do / Barry Brown - Emmanuel Road - Tanka 12"
  • When I'm Grey / - Money Disc 7"
  • When You Are Smiling / Version - Sono Wax 7" (1978)
  • When You're Smiling w/ Trinity - Gorgon Records 12" (1978)
  • When You're Smiling w/ Trinity - Savannah 12" (1978)
  • Where Have You Been / Version - Amethyst Records 12" (1984)
  • Won't Get Away / Version - Downtown 7" (Prod: Eddie Wong)
  • Won't Get Away / Version - Impact! 7"
  • Won't Get Away / Version - Impact!/DKR 7"
  • You'll Be Sorry / Version - Money Disc 7" (1972) RE 7" (2013)
  • Your Cup Is Full / Version - Sunpower 7" (1975)

April 2014

Lou Rhodes - Natures Creed - Tuff Scout 7"

Enos McLeod - Jericho - OnlyRoots 12"
Ruffy & Tuffy - Take One Step/Dub - OnlyRoots 7"
Icho Candy - Babylon/Dub - OnlyRoots 7"

DKR
Scientist - The Dub Album They Didn't Want You To Hear - DKR LP
Don Carlos - Prepare Jah Man - DKR/Wackies 7"
Azul - Black Rose part 1/part 2 - DKR/Wackies 7"
Jah Joe - Dreadlocks Song/Dub - DKR/Wackies 7"
Jah Tuff/John Clarke - Thrilla In Manila/Wasn't It You - DKR/Wackies 7"

Delano Tucker - Gather Israelites/Version - Mango 7" (LSP)

Thursday, March 13, 2014

March 2014

Willie Brackenridge - Blood Money/Version - Archive/High Times 7"
Willie Williams - Come Make We Rally/Version - Archive 12"
Mike Brooks - Children Of Babylon - Archive 12"
Allan Kingpin - Wake Up - Archive/Ariwa 12"
Knowledge/Anthony Doyley - Man Talk Truth/Let Us All - Archive/Knowledge 12"

Mystic Eyes - Reality - Dub Irator/DKR 7"
Mighty Abidjans - Don't Change The System - Swing Bird/DKR 7"
Mighty Abidjans - Untamed
Fashioneers - Guiding Light - Swing Bird/DKR 7"

Danny Tucker - Take Us Home/Version - Twigzee Dee 7"
Massive Dread - Mutual Inspiration - Gorgon Records 7"
Brenton King - Jah Is A Black Man - Cosmopolitan 7"
Sylvester Morgan - Ruler Of Mankind - Fox 7"

Trinity - Vampire/Version - Iroko 7"
Delroy Williams - I Stand Black - Message/OnlyRoots LP

Winston Jarrett - Wise Man/Ishen Galore - Pressure Sounds 10"
Prince Far I/Jr Reid - Zachary The High Priest/Oh Happy Day - Pressure Sounds 10"
Horace Andy - Get Wise - Pressure Sounds CD
Roy Graham - Why Should You/Version - 1974 - Pressure Sounds/Sunshot 7"
Delroy Wilson - Baby Don't You Do It/Version - 7"
Tidals - Put Those Fools/What A Great Day - 7"
Barrington Spence - Wake You Shake You/Where Footsteps Led - 7"

Viceroys - Love Is Stronger/Version - Med Tone Records 7"

Norris Regal - Struggle - Sirron/ Reel Heavy Music 12"

Freddie Clark/Debbie Rivers - Home We Wanna Go/Jah Light - Main Line 12"

About Me

i roam the hills above my house with my pack of three bitches.